top of page
Search

Self Story #4

Although I have many “gendered” attributes and interests and consider myself a female there are many interests that would be considered tomboy-like.


To this day, I'll never forget the first day walking into a barn. I was 2 years old. It was a brisk November day and I made my way in grasping my grandfather and fathers hands. My eyes light up with joy and amusement as I excitedly stepped in. Every direction I looked there was a new animal that I had to go and pet.


Our first stop was the cattle.Their loud moos echoed through my ears. Without knowing I placed my tiny hand gently in the middle of the fur. My hand sunk in and made an imprint almost like it was memory foam. I loved the soft and silky feel. As I was about to continue to keep petting I abruptly got pulled away by my grandfather and father. I was in shock. I couldn’t figure out why I couldn’t continue running my little fingers across the magnificent fur. A Showcatle ! I had been petting a cattle who had just been freshly blow dried and brushed up for the auction. At the time I couldn’t understand because I was only 2. It was just too fluffy to resist touching. Now that I look back I laugh but, I know that I can only pet the cattle before they’re blow dried.


The next stop were the horses. The horses were so friendly and gentle. To pet them I had to be lifted so I could reach them. I lovingly brushed my hands across their slick and warm fur. This day on, I grew a love for horses. I always wanted to own one of my own but never got the opportunity because my city like living area would not be ideal for a horse. I cherished my dream and continued on to lunch.We decided to have burgers. Burgers right beside the cattle. To many this would make them nauseous and turn them off but I loved it. From the knowledge and customs of my grandfather I wanted to be just like him. A true farm girl.

14 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Self Analysis: Normative Narratives

Race is something we encounter everyday. After reading many of my classmates blogs I noticed similarities between Cassidys post and my own. Between our blogs I noticed normative narratives that stood

Self Story#3- Socioeconomic Status

An array of colours fill the streets as I walk briskly downtown in Winnipeg. As I continued across the streets I noticed sweet harmonies swirling towards me. I wondered what it could be. I kept walkin

Reading Response #1 Blog Post

When we say “We are all treaty people” it simply means we have our own rights and responsibilities with treaties as Canadian citizens. A treaty is a formal written agreement and may be used for peace,

bottom of page